History of OPVMC
The Orchard Park Veterinary Medical Center was originally established in 1958 as a one-doctor community practice clinic, by Rodney S. Graves, DVM. He was joined in 1968 by John C. Laurie, DVM who assumed the position of director of surgery, with Dr. Graves serving as director of internal medicine.
Since then we have grown into both a singular and unique entity, in that we now actually comprise three separate practices (Community, Emergency/Critical Care, and Referral) under one name and in one location.
When we first opened our doors at the 3507 Orchard Park Road location on the corner of Milestrip Road, in 1979, the entire staff consisted of 12 people; today, we employ over 100 staff members, all of whom work hard each day to meet the mission of the hospital. In May of 2008 we moved to our current location at 3930 North Buffalo Road into a 22,000 sq. feet, former supermarket, newly remodeled and outfitted for our practice.
"Always the Patient's Advocate."
These additional features have placed us in a position to offer continuous and consistent care, 24 hours a day 7 days a week for all pets seen as regularly scheduled appointments, emergency situations, and those admitted to the hospital under any medical circumstance.
Along with our growth and changes, we have strived to maintain a family-like atmosphere for both staff and clients by focusing on the goals defined in our mission and vision statements. It is our goal and mission to always provide services based on our patient's needs.